John Scott G

John Scott G

John Scott G, an admitted word nerd, writes books, plays, screenplays, and political commentary. Author of "Area Code 666," "Secret Sex," and "Ambient Deviant Speedmetal Polka," Mr. G also writes under the pseudonym Gerald Laurence. Every day he happily rubs a few phrases up against each other to create sparks in your brain. You're welcome.

15 Comments

  1. LadyJ
    Oct 1, 2011 @ 6:16 PM PDT

    Bravo for a wonderful review. Can’t wait to read this informative book and a positive one where Michael is concerned, as well.

  2. Mark Bentley
    Oct 1, 2011 @ 7:06 PM PDT

    I am very excited about the release of Joe Vogel’s book. I am hardly alone in appreciating his work to return the focus to where it should have always stayed–on Michael Jackson’s extraordinary rise to global superstardom through the vehicle of his astounding, preternatural musical abilities and creative vision. A huge hole opened up in the popular music universe with Jackson’s death. People feel it–they miss him and what he represented. It will be refreshing to read something insightful and well-researched about an artist who stood leagues above so many of his peers (including quite a few that magazines like Rolling Stone continue to fawn over for reasons I have yet to understand.)

    I look forward to more serious examinations of what an epic musical journey Michael Jackson traveled, and how he was able to get so many millions to travel it with him. I’m hopeful Vogel’s book marks the opening of a floodgate of good writing on this worthy subject.

  3. LibelFreeZone
    Oct 1, 2011 @ 9:05 PM PDT

    I am so looking forward to the release of this book! Can you imagine a book about Michael Jackson that focuses on his musical genius? That’s got to be a first–and deserving–treatment of a man so maligned for far too long. Thank you, Joe Vogel, for writing the book, and thank you, John Scott G, for writing a review that deliciously whets the appetite.

  4. TheresaB
    Oct 1, 2011 @ 9:06 PM PDT

    I have had this book on preorder for several months. Since it will be released earlier in the UK, I have it on preorder there as well. I have read a number of articles written by Joe Vogel on PopMatters.com and the Huffington Post on the albums “Dangerous” and “Michael” plus articles on other artists such as Adam Lambert. I have also read his e-book on “Earth Song.” Joe’s work seems to be well-researched. He puts the music in the context of history, both artistically and culturally. I love his writing. It is long past time that a book focused on the creative life and work of Michael Jackson is published. He is one of the greatest and most culturally significant artists of our time.

    The fact that Mr. Vogel spent 5 years doing research by speaking with so many of Mr. Jackson’s professional collaborators and that the estate supports the book bode well. I want to hear what the people have to say that actually knew Michael Jackson and worked with him professionally. Too often their words and opinions have been omitted when the media tells Michael’s story.

    I can’t wait for this book to be available!

  5. gertrude
    Oct 1, 2011 @ 9:23 PM PDT

    Thank-you for this exceptionally concise, well-written and informative review. How very rare and novel for anyone from the media to state things honestly instead of foisting the usual snearing, sniggering, slanderous storm of crap and lies on us. Based on your recommendation I look very forward to purchasing and reading this book. Michael Jackson was after all, hugely important historically to the music and entertainment arts.

  6. gertrude
    Oct 1, 2011 @ 9:26 PM PDT

    I meant to say…”the usual snearing, sniggering, slanderous storm of crap and lies on us regarding Michael Jackson.”

  7. Diane
    Oct 2, 2011 @ 1:17 AM PDT

    John: Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I pre-ordered this book months ago as soon as Amazon announced it’s upcoming release. I have been following Vogel’s writings on Michael for some time and always enjoy his intelligent and studied perspective. As one who loved Michael Jackson and his music, what joy it is to imagine a book that FINALLY focuses on his near super human creative talent. Long overdue….

  8. Nancy Jensen
    Oct 2, 2011 @ 1:41 AM PDT

    Wonderful article from John Scott G about the highly anticipated “Man in the Music” by talented author Joe Vogel. Anyone who has read Vogel’s music blogs on the Huffington Post is familiar with his extensive knowledge
    of the music scene in general, and Michael Jackson’s works in particular. Vogel relates the backround, inspiration, and creative processes behind Jackson’s music in a style that is informative, colorful and fascinating.

    Mr. Vogel has previously released on E-books his section on: The Earth Song-Jackson’s Magnum Opus-which was met rave reviews by readers. After experiencing his blogs, Jackson fans and those interested in music and culture and the creative processes behind some of the most popular and influential songs of all time are waiting
    in anticipation to read the whole book!

  9. June
    Oct 2, 2011 @ 7:03 PM PDT

    I have pre-ordered Man In The Music and eagerly anticipate its release. Thank you so much for this informative review.

  10. Tina Sue Poe
    Oct 3, 2011 @ 10:19 AM PDT

    What a great review of this highly anticipated book. I have had it on pre-order for months now. Mr. Vogel has written other pieces celebrating the life of Jackson as a genius artist and he never stoops to the tabloid level. Admirers of Jackson, such as me and millions of others are grateful for the respectful treatment Michael Jackson so deserves here. I am praying that this will be the trend of the future. Here’s hoping that the slanderous, salacious and sensationalistic material stays in the dim past, and that future listeners will be enlightened and will understand that this was an artist for the ages, who was tragically misunderstood and maligned in his own time.

  11. Barbara
    Oct 3, 2011 @ 7:40 PM PDT

    I am so excited to read this book. I have had it pre-ordered for months. I look forward to reading a book about the music of Michael Jackson.

  12. Sera
    Oct 3, 2011 @ 8:17 PM PDT

    Thankyou to the author for this wonderful review of Mr Vogel’s upcoming book.

    I am very excited to read and learn about the creative process that Michael Jackson puts into his musical art. If Mr Vogel’s piece on “Earth Song” – Michael Jackson’s Magnum Opus (available on Amazon) is anything to go by, we are in for a real treat of previously unknown information and thoroughly researched material.

    A book like this is long overdue. Michael Jackson’s artistic creativity deserves nothing less than this.

  13. Chantelle J sparkes
    Oct 4, 2011 @ 11:22 PM PDT

    Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of what sounds to me to be a wonderful book, You’ve certainly made it sound brilliant and from what I know about the author I’m absolutely sure I won’t be dissappointed!

    It is lovely to see there’s a book (and review) about anything to do with Michael that isn’t slanderous and that doesn’t make him out to be some kind of weird freak. It is such a rare novel experience to encounter something as well written as this.

    I’d like to take the time and opportunity to thank the reviewer for such a lovely review and for also being respectful of Michael and using his proper name and none of the slanderous “nicknames” most people tend to resort to.

    Much respect to you for that.

    Sincerely Chantelle J Sparkes.

  14. Deborah
    Oct 5, 2011 @ 6:27 AM PDT

    I am thrilled with this review and delighted to read it.

    Waiting for my pre-orders — yes, plural — with barely restrained anticipation, Vogel’s ‘Man in the Music’ promises to actually become the ‘classic’ Michael Jackson’s legacy deserves.

    Roll on November!

  15. Sanda S-Lewis
    Feb 1, 2012 @ 6:38 PM PDT

    I have been tirelessly researching anything Michael Jackson since his passing. As a professor of American 20th century literature and culture, with a focus on 80s and 90s African American writing and women’s writing, I find this book indespensable for any college-level instructor or professor who considers him/herself an expert on this era or the contemporary. Thank you, Joseph Vogel for having the courage and insight to put this long overdue study out. I agree with 95% of authorVogel’s claims and guarantee the book’s accuracy and ‘passionate objectivity,’ because engaging with Jackson’s work inevitably involves all senses.